Columns Concours

2021 CVR Fall Concours – Wrap Up & Results

Fall. The time of year for apple cider, leaf peeping, and enjoying too much Halloween candy. And for a second year, fall has also been host to CVR’s Annual People’s Choice Concours.

This year’s Concours debuted many firsts. While we maintained our 12 classes of friendly competition, we introduced a 992 series 911 class. We also split the very popular Boxster/Cayman class into two separate classes. Moreover, we included a LEGO Porsche display for our youngest attendees and even held a ‘Sock-Tober’ sock drive to benefit a local food shelter.

Speaking of firsts, there was not one, but TWO special displays. We held a curated display of 914s in celebration of 50 years of the model. We also held a display of 911 Turbos in honor of 45 years for that model. Both groups provided great model year and visual variety.

Having attended many Concours events and cars shows over the past decade, I can confidently say that CVR’s Concours is one of the best venues to see a chronological history of Porsche models. Each of our People’s Choice Porsche classes enjoyed an abundance of participation. The three largest classes were Early 911/912, 991 series 911, and Cayman.

Photo Credit: Mike Keller
Photo Credit: Joe Kunecki

914 Special Display Participants

1970 914-6 Justin Fischer
1970 914-6 GT David & Lisa Lee
1972 914 Andrew Tourigny
1974 914 2.0 liter Paul Kudra
1974 914 Bob Meade
1976 914 Chuck Graham
1976 914 Wayne Dombkowski
Photo Credit: Mike Keller
Photo Credit: Joe Kunecki

911 Turbo Special Display Participants

1979 930 TurboRudy Campagnola
1985 930 TurboBrett Sloan
1986 930 TurboSteven McMillan
1986 930 TurboRic Nanni
1997 993 TurboMather Clarke
1997 993 TurboAdam Burrows
2001 996 TurboDan Cruz
2001 996 TurboBob Cullen
2003 996 TurboDavid King
2003 996 Turbo X-50Mickey Koleszar
2007 997 TurboDylan McGuinness
2011 997 Turbo SNeil Platt
2014 991 TurboSteven Schoenfeld
2015 991 TurboFrank Garufi
2017 991 TurboRon Faibusch
2018 991 Turbo S Exclusive EditionRob Maina
2018 991 GT2 RSWilliam Plummer
Photo Credit: Mike Keller

People’s Choice Concours Winners

3561stNed Gorski1955 356 Continental Cabriolet
 2ndRob & Lynn Keller1961 356 B Super 90 Coupe
 3rdGeorge Champion1959 356 A Coupe
 Finalist (Tie)Charlie Coviello1964 356 SC Sunroof Coupe
 Finalist (Tie)Scott Taylor1958 356 A 1600 Super Coupe
Early 911/912 (1964 – 1977)1stRaymond Turri1973 911E
 2ndCharlie Mayer1973 911T
 3rdJim Newton1973 911 Carrera Safari
 FinalistClarence Casper1967 911
911 (1978 – 1989)1stToni Fishman1988 911 Club Sport
 2ndAnthony DeLiso1981 911 SC
 3rdFrank Arute1987 911 Carrera Cabriolet
 FinalistJeff LaFrance1987 911 Carrera
911: 964/993 (1989 – 1998)1stKevin Sullivan1997 911 Targa
 2ndWilliam Platt1990 911 Carrera 4
 3rdJoe Muro1998 911 Carrera S
911: 996 (1999 – 2005)1stJosue Colon2005 911 GT3
 2ndMichael Puzzo2003 911 Carrera 4S
 3rdFernando Figueras2002 911 Carrera Cabriolet
 FinalistJoe Morrow2003 911 Carrera Cabriolet
911: 997 (2005 – 2013)1stMike Sutka2011 911 GT3 RS 4.0
 2ndPrescott Kelly2011 911 GT3 RS 3.8
 3rdWilliam Joyner2006 911 Carrera S Cabriolet
 FinalistJoe Macauto2009 911 Carrera 4S Cabriolet
911: 991 (2012 – 2019)1stJerry Charlup2017 911 Targa 4 GTS
 2ndRichard Schoenfeld2016 911 GT3 RS
 3rdAndrew MacMillen2019 911 Targa 4 GTS
 FinalistJeffrey Atwood2017 911 Carrera
911: 992 (2020 – Current)1stMark Torello2021 911 Carrera S Cabriolet
 2ndRalph Volpe2021 911 Carrera S Cabriolet
924/928/944/9681stRinaldo Magliano1978 928
 2ndMike Keller1986 944
 3rdEric Polinsky1980 928
 FinalistBrian Bagnall1982 928
Boxster1stJudith Rhodes2022 Boxster 25 Years
 2ndFrank Sena2001 Boxster S
 3rdRobert Bosco2004 Boxster S 550 Spyder Ed.
 FinalistRobert Orlando2005 Boxster
Cayman1stRichard Simonich2016 Cayman GT4
 2ndSue Young2021 Cayman GTS 4.0
 3rdRandy Barr2007 Cayman S
 FinalistHannah Schoenfeld2012 Cayman R
Cayenne/Macan/Panamera/Taycan1stAllen Fossbender2021 Taycan 4S
 2ndChristine Engel2018 Panamera 4S Sport Turismo
 3rdMike Ciocca2009 Cayenne GTS (6-speed)
 FinalistWalt Hyjek2016 Macan Turbo

Since 2016, we have also presented the Ernst Benzien Award. Ernst was a long-time CVR member and avid collector of rare and highly original Porsches. The jewel of his collection was his 1964 904 Carrera GTS, which actually just won at Pebble Beach under its current caretakers. This year’s Ernst Benzien award recipient was Jim Newton, with his 1973 911 Carrera Safari, a professional rally car campaigned by Bruno Kreibich of Bruno’s VW in Queens, NY. After decades of dormancy, Jim got this very special 911 running, debuting it at this year’s Concours. Jim’s car is pictured below.

Photo Credit: Mike Keller
Photo Credit: Joe Kunecki

As noted, we held a LEGO display for our most youthful attendees. Thank you to Andrew and Tyler Lentini for bringing their awesome Porsche 911 racing series models—one in 1/24th scale and one in 1/8th scale. Each of them received award ribbons and a LEGO candy goodie bag.

Our Sock-Tober sock drive was a massive success—thank you for your generosity! Our Community Service team was thrilled to collect nearly 1,000 pairs of socks. All have been donated to a very appreciative shelter, St. Vincent de Paul of Middletown, CT.

And last but not least, thanks again to our superb volunteer team and all of our participants. We look forward to announcing the special theme for next year’s Concours.

–Mike Keller, Concours Chair

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.